top of page

Nomination for an honour

Please do contact the Lieutenancy Team before nominating someone for an honour or award. We will be delighted to advise and support you through the procedure.

Where can I access the procedure for making a nomination?

Guidance on eligibility and recommendation for an honour or award is available from the UK government website here.

What do people receive an honour or award for?

People get honours for achievements like:

  • making a difference to their community or field of work

  • enhancing Britain’s reputation

  • long-term voluntary service

  • innovation and entrepreneurship

  • changing things, with an emphasis on achievement

  • improving life for people less able to help themselves

  • displaying moral courage and doing difficult things

Honours are given to people involved in different activities, including:

  • community, voluntary and local services

  • arts and media

  • health

  • sport

  • education

  • science and technology

  • business and the economy

  • civil or political service


At the age of 100 years, Captain Sir Tom Moore was knighted by The Queen in 2020 at a special lockdown investiture ceremony at Windsor Castle, in recognition of raising almost £33 million for the NHS by walking laps of his garden.

Types of Honours

Although you cannot nominate someone for a specific honour, the following guidelines give a helpful indication of the various levels of honours and the underlying criteria for awards.

  • Knight/Dame

This is awarded for having made a major contribution in any activity, usually at national level. Other people working in the nominee’s field of expertise will see their contribution as inspirational and significant, requiring commitment over a long period of time.

  • Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

This is awarded for having had a prominent role at national level, or a leading role at regional level. It may also be awarded for distinguished, innovative contribution to a specific activity or area of influence.

  • Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

This is awarded for having a major local role in any activity, including people whose work has made them known nationally in to other working in the nominee’s area of activity.

  • Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

This is awarded for a significant achievement or outstanding service to the community. An MBE is also awarded for local ‘hands-on’ service which stands out as an example to other people.

  • British Empire Medal (BEM)

Reintroduced in 2012, this rewards a sustained, local contribution over many years, or innovative, high-impact work of a relatively short duration (for example, three to four years).


Lynne McNicoll received her OBE from The Prince of Wales in 2015.  Lynne raises funds for young cancer patients and their families in Scotland.

More information about the range of of other honours that The Queen awards can be found on The Royal Family website here.

bottom of page